UF NYC Dance XChange Summer 2013

Standard

Image 1 Image

I went on a summer trip with University of Florida students to explore the dance scene in New York City. One of my favorite parts of the trip was meeting interesting people and hearing their life stories. We met a woman, Siobhan Burke, who auditioned for Riverdance and got in! We also met a woman who did not start dancing ballet until she was 20 years old, but she really loved it and she had a successful career! Now she works at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts in the dance section. I also really loved seeing the New York City Ballet because it was my first time seeing the ballet. The Stephen Petronio Dance Company was cool too. I had a great time taking a Ballet class at Steps on Broadway. Their teachers are so attentive to detail! I took a Jazz class also. They were very encouraging and made little improvements on even the greatest dancers in small details like their arm movements or the way they shifted their shoulders slightly in a movement. I really liked the Julliard Senior Production as well. They were clearly very skilled dancers, but they also added elements of theater to the performance. I also enjoyed taking Modern and Yoga classes at Dance New Amsterdam. And I loved performing at the “Our Children’s Foundation” in Harlem. The kids there were so inspiring. They reminded me that you should never give up on your dreams, no matter what! People will tell you you cannot be happy and you must settle, but that is not true! More on this later.

Leave a Reply

